ForGE v0.4.0

Version 0.4.0 of the ForGE framework has been released. Several new widgets (including cairo drawing surfaces) have been added, internal tweaks to the how widgets are placed, sized, and displayed have been made, and some new functions have been added.

4 responses to “ForGE v0.4.0

  1. cean August 18, 2013 at 10:46 PM

    Nice work. I begin to use GTK-fortran under win7. Hope this ForGE will help me.

    • John Shahbazian August 19, 2013 at 8:43 AM

      Thanks! Its still at a very early stage of development, and I’ve kinda paused it due to a move and a new job, actually. If you’re interested in seeing the code behind it, I can publish a link to the github for it. In fact, that’s probably a good idea. I think its a good alternative to DISLIN (which is still very good), but it needs a lot of work.

      • cean August 30, 2013 at 9:37 PM

        I looked at DISLIN. I thought it is a graph lib at first, but soon find in its map_f90.f90 example, there is some UIs.
        I like gtk-fortran for its UI functions and I can make plot by myself. Is DISLIN good as gtk-fortran in UIs?
        DISLIN code is neat, gtk-fortran code maybe a little messy.

      • John Shahbazian October 18, 2013 at 10:26 PM

        Sorry for my horribly late reply. I’m sure you’ve probably looked at everything by now, but just in case you haven’t, DISLIN is actually decent at making UI’s. Well, it does it in a weird way, but if you kinda map it out first, you can make some pretty complex stuff. I’d really give it a shot if you’re not looking to do commercial development. The function names are annoying at first, but you get used to them eventually.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.